Wednesday, September 30, 2009

Seasons Change

Never fails right? When the seasons change, (well at least for those of us that have a distinct four seasons) we all tend to get that weird feeling. Change is on the horizon. I'm unable to describe it. And events in our lives unfold and create new paths and we look back to past years and reflect. I'm convinced of the mind-body connection and what thoughts you harvest have, in some way-shape-or-form, an impact on your reality and the outcome of your life. Quantum physics and Buddhism and other schools of thought support such theories. Face it people, the mind is a very powerful thing. We don't even use but a small percentage of it. I won't get all deep down the specifics of all of that because I have before. But I feel it. I feel the change, but this time I have a feeling it's a bigger change for me. I mean, yea, duh, I'm leaving the country for three months. One could consider that a big change in and of itself. But it's more than that. And being the tried and true Capricorn female that I am....although it has gotten a LOT easier over the years to ride the wave, go with the flow, what have you, it still feels weird and I'm anxious of the outcome. I used to fear the outcome....but now, I'm anxious in a good way. Like a kid waiting for Santa to come. Eager anticipation. Impatient anticipation. I'm ready to get on with the next phase of my life. I could sit here and try to speculate what that looks like, or what I WANT it to look like, and that's important to put those thoughts out there...but that's only half the battle. The other half is being proactive and doing it. Can't wait to see what experiences I will have in C.R. Who knows, maybe I have to fulfill some life destiny in Costa Rica or just get back to calm...living in a big city is anything but calm, not that I'm complaining...chaos and confusion are good friends of mine. But calm is something I need right now. Hopefully I'll find my mentor in a field where I finally decide that's what I want to do with my life. Because I have so many ideas of what I want to do....some people don't have any clue, I have too many clues. lol. Here I go speculating again. It's what I do best. What I am sure of is my willingness and fearlessness to do the unthinkable. Be fearless. Blaze trails. I already manage to do things that most people consider outlandish. But I am willing to stop at nothing to get what I want. But first I have to decide what I want, which is the hardest part of all. Anyway...I'm feeling a bit emo today. Life's most important issues on my mind. Family, friends, love, nature, blah blah blah.

Enough seriousness already! SO, I got my ticket and the date is November 5th. I'm lame and haven't written since I got laid off. This is a repetitive cycle, me saying I'm going to write more and then not writing. I've had so many wonderful experiences this summer too! Alas, I will try harder because I'm really trying to push my goals to success and also try to at least moderate some bad habits I've got. I had a really good time this weekend with my sister and Karl and Mel n J and Vanessa and Tavo and T, someone I met through some crazy fucked up in a good way 6 degrees of separation. And Angela! ha ha. Love love love family and friends to the point it makes me sentimental. ha ha. I'll post some pics when I get the chance. And I gotta post some pics of the T.J.'s Michigan trip with the wifey. Those cats are pretty awesome too. Much luv!

Sunday, September 20, 2009

Anything With Bacon

The man wanted anything with bacon for his birthday. Really, that was his response when I asked him what he wanted me to bring. He said "Anything with bacon". So I gave him what he wanted and as usual (not to sound immodest...) it was a success. Asparagus wrapped in bacon baked in the oven for 20 minutes. I'm sorry I don't have pictures to encourage salivation or grumbling stomachs. ;)

I'm watching the Mad Men series right now. It ties into my personal studies at the moment. I can't believe I came this close to entering the world of mass consumption via public relations and advertising. I'm not going to evolve into an extremist of the sort...you know, the ones that give up their life of living on the radar, those who are brave enough to completely erase government propaganda, media control of the mind, and leave the societal systems that were created over the time span of humanity...no I'm an American born and raised in the 20th/21st century. What I'm good for is being conscious of the lies we are fed on a daily basis and to basically talk about them. Because lord knows I can't give up everything I know about myself. That's an interesting statement though. If anyone is reading this and you still know me in 20 years and you remember this at all....ask me if I know myself to be the same person I was in 2009. ha ha. Anyway...Mad Men, for what it's worth, allows me to peek inside the past. I would die if I had to be a housewife in the 50's. I'm certain I would have been the single girl shacking up with the unhappily married men. And really, the whole advertising industry...what does that mean? I get it that people created this monster of consumption through this industry that was created called advertising. So how do we create a paradigm shift around media and advertising? I don't want to take down the industry. Or picket the big guys. Just asking for a paradigm shift around the industry and the public's perception. Is that too much to ask?