Wednesday, November 25, 2009

Slacking...Scratching....Salsa

Ugh. I'm STILL scratching from that damned Caribbean bugger whatever the hell it was. To top it off mi dulce sangre is highly favored among the Playa Del Carmen array of mosquitoes. I actually found out what the name of the bug that infested my skin in Costa Rica is called. But I have to find it again, it was in our guidebook...go figure. I think a spider bit me on the head too. But no worries, nothing has poisoned me yet. Or maybe I poisoned it, with the amount of alcohol I've been consuming I am pretty sure whatever bites me will die in a few seconds.

Anyway...I have no idea why blogspot sent out my blog posting from June about Costa Rica wanting to become the first carbon free nation. Ok, it's appropriate, I was just there but I promise I did not request to have that sent out. This site does weird things sometimes I tell you.

It's been a hectic week or so. I still have yet to unveil my two favorite segments of Costa Rica. I'm taking a vacay from my vacay. lol. I will have more time in a couple of days though. Hence the slacking...

And for the record, I love dancing the salsa! mmmmm.....it might be dangerous for me to be in salsa spanish territory for too long. I might fall in love with Costa Rica and not come back. jaja. Ciao!

Wednesday, November 18, 2009

Drink the water!

Well, I still have those bites all over my legs and back and arms. They are fading, but I´m beginning to think my friend had some kind of bugs in his house because now Dave has the same mysterious bites all over his legs and arms. We gave all of our clothes to the neighbors tia (aunt) to wash so we are hoping that it will solve the pest problem. We think they might be in our clothes. Ew.

We arrived at Jeffrey´s place yesterday. He is the cousin of a friend of a friend in Chicago. Nice guy and amazing place he has here. Here´s a video of my arrival.



Breathtaking I promise. I explained yesterday that Tilaran is a small town like 15 minutes from San Luis, where the house is where we are staying. I am REALLY loving speaking Spanish. Everyone gives me great hope and they swear their English is worse than my Spanish but I beg to differ. They are just being nice...jaja. Pero es posible que mi espanol es mas bueno tan como el tiempo pasado cuando fui en Costa Rica. Es posible que enseno ingles en este ciudad pequeno. Es muy tranquilo aqui. I am loving this region of Costa Rica. Its perfect weather. Nice and cool at night and in the morning when you want to sleep and hot and humid and gorgeous during the day. The lake is amazing. A few facts about Laguna Arenal:

One of the top 5 best spots for windsurfing in the world!
Average year round temperature is 76 degrees fahrenheit (PERFECT!!!)
Humid and hilly of volcanic origin
More than 1000 species of plants
500 species of animals incluye jaguar, puma, hummingbird, toucan, bass fish
Laguna Arenal generates valuable benefits for local communities such as water, energy
production (they have hydroelectric dam to use the lake for electricity for
surrounding communities....the neighbor works there and is going to take us
there Saturday) conservation wild life, research, education and cultural.
Waterfalls 45 minutes away by bus
Monteverde only 2 hours away by bus
Volcano about an hour away by bus
Lake is 30 kilometers in length (18 miles)
Width is 4 kilometers (roughly 2.5 miles)
It is the largest lake in the country and the 2nd largest in Central America

Some photos

Just a shot on our walk down a gravel road to Laguna Arenal


Taken standing on the shores of the lake


Another shot just on the walk to the lake


This is what the road and some of the houses looked like on the walk down to the lake


The three stores in the village


the central square and park in Tilaran


A view of next door to the house we are staying in


the street we are staying on down the dirt road across the street from the church in San Luis (literally the directions we were given to get to the house.)


View from our front room window


Shot on the walk we took to the lake


Painting on the wall in Tilaran...see the wind mills?


Church in city central


While it is a nice sleepy village, there is also the presence of money or tourism or both. When we took walk to the lake we found a yacht club that offered services like a pool, jet skiis, windsurf lessons, trampoline on the water, kayaks etc...and a fancy hotel that probably costed about $150 a night. In the distance we could see a community of BIG homes, either vacation homes for foreigners or rich Costa Ricans. We wanted to see if we could take a boat to the volcano but it would have been like $300 and we were like ok, going back up the walk to our little abode. But yea, there were a couple more stores and a bar down there but seems like property right on the lake is more expensive. I just need to befriend someone with a boat....would be amazing to take a boat ride on this beautiful lake!!!!

It is very cool to see the people here care so much about the environment. Even in San Jose there are recycling bins everywhere. And like this area of the country the industry is renewable and sustainable energy. They have windmills and hydroelectric dams and such. Costa Rica wants to be the first carbon neutral country. Although it is not without its problems and I will have to get into that in another post, they certainly are doing a good job with the environment.

Despite fears of foreigners to drink water in central or south america...costa rica has some of the purest water in the world. It´s MORE than ok to drink the tap water.

The people in this small town are SO incredibly nice, but I guess you get that if you venture into small town Wisconsin as well. In fact, it reminds me of a Central American Wisconsin where I am right now. Cows, plants, rolling hills, lakes, friendly people. Aaahhh...my own slice of the Midwest in Central America.

We are headed to the Cloud Forest in Monteverde tomorrow and I am SO going to take a tour of the cheese factory. The Quaker community from USA moved to Monteverde in the 50´s to avoid being drafted into the war. They put down roots and created farming communities and now they produce local cheese, meets and vegetables. See what I mean about it being like the Midwest. ha ha.

I continue to learn new things about myself...every day. Every day is an adventure. We opened a wine bottle with a screw and (thanks to Andy Crowe) a screwdriver on my Swiss Army knife. And took ingredients that were "available" and made a wonderful dinner. Sat on the porch at dusk and focused my curiousities on the two people outside. One a teenage boy next door jumping to hit the roof of his house and periodically leaving on his motorcycle to who knows where and then a little boy across the street playing on a pole and jumping on stairs while his family was inside the temple. That is the ONLY action on this street, aside from the goings on of the local pack of dogs and the four or so cows that were next door and across the street. We also imagined shapes in the big tree across the street. Whilst sippin on some Merlot. The country life. Can u dig it?

Hopefully Ill make it to those waterfalls today. Love u and miss you all. Sending postcards soon. Adios!

Tuesday, November 17, 2009

time keeps on slipping....into the future.....

Don't have much time. It's 9:30 a.m. and I woke at 6:30 this morning. I've been getting up earlier and earlier every day here. Weird considering I didn't get out of bed until 8:15 to get to work at 9:00 when I had a job. But it's nice to get a head start on the day and what not.

I still don't have the time to describe and communicate my six days in El Caribe but I promise it will be worth it.

We rushed to get to the bus station yesterday to make the 1:45 bus to Tilaran. Turns out it didn't leave until 3:45. In the Coca Cola neighborhood of San Jose (which we had been "warned" of). I meandered around on my own for a bit. Don't believe the hype. Be aware, as I always say, but if there's one thing I've learned on this trip. Don't listen to what other people have to say about a place. Take it into consideration but make your own judgments. I did see a lady having a rather rough day though. Face down on the sidewalk in the middle of the sidewalk wailing at the top of her lungs for a good hour and a half. People just stepped over her or walked around her. Not sure there was much anyone could do. Or if it was even real or a scam. But that's not something that weirds me out, it's happened before in Chicago. But I liked the neihborhood. It was real.

So we had a four hour bus ride to Tilaran. It was the most amazing scenery I've ever seen in my life. It was nearly dusk so the pics didn't turn out but just imagine driving through idyllic mountains, ALL green, rolling landscapes and smoldering looking clouds floating in around and breaking up around the mountain to form a hazy mist. The bus broke down for about fifteen minutes (or there was a problem with the lights) but we were back on track. I read my book when it got dark, thank god, because the bus likes to pass traffic on a two lane road IN the mountains. But hey, they do it every day so I guess all I can do is sit back and relax.

It's weird because people don't care much about music here. Honestly, everywhere I've been it's all about 80's American music. Very strange. And television too. You fail to realize how much American imperialism dominates every corner of global culture. I was watching Greys Anatomy last night and there were commercials for 90210. It almost feels like I'm at home....not TOO much of a culture shock. I'm getting along well with my Spanish. I'm toying with the idea of getting a masters degree in Latin American studies. But as we all know I change my mind every other day.

now for some pics:

This is a flag of the coordinates where our couchsurfer hosts sister was lost at sea. Long story and tugged my heart strings. So sad....she was following her dream of becoming a sailor and a storm hit and they never found any traces of her ship. I took this to remember my friends sister....


the frame of the bamboo house and the roof pieces u can see lying on the ground. It's in the middle of like 30 acres in the rainforest.


and this is the market we went to in Limon. Good food, cheap prices.



That's all for now. I really gotta unplug. time to get a move on.

Monday, November 16, 2009

Seize The Day

Ummm....yea. Clearly didn't make it back in time to blog. Struck up a fancy of an eve with some hookers, Guiness and dirty gringos. ha ha. Ok well there's this expat bar next door to our hostel and they serve Guiness. Don't ask me why I'm compelled to make friends with hookers but I basically paid a hooker to stay at the bar with us instead of wandering off with this completely wasted guy for a quick buck. Good guy sober but ridiculous when drunk. Meet Manju.

ANYWAY...I don't have much time before our bus to Tilaran arrives so I'm trying to condense as much as possible into an hour. A theme throughout my trip has been recurring....live for today and live it to its fullest. Chase your wildest dreams. Whew. Yea, so I am gonna jump around the sequence of my days....which you could care less cuz it's all the same to you. So we arrived back in San Jose from our AMAZING trip to the Caribbean. There's WAY too much to say about it so I'm going to have to take some time while in Tilaran to even begin to talk about that. Same general theme though, life is too short, follow your dreams and live for today and to its fullest. Like a broken record here I swear...and not just from Tico's. Anyway...I've never been happier though to rent a private room and be in the comforts of a city. It's not so much rural that was the source of relief at being back in the city. More like privacy. I had been sleeping in rooms with at least two other people if not more...and living two days here and two days there. I like to remain located in one spot. And this hostel in San Jose is a sort of familiarity for me at this point. So we get to San Jose, settle in, Dave naps, I take care of some business (like getting a new bank card cuz I have no idea where mine is....great right?) We decide to throw down some Guiness around 6 p.m. and it turns into dinner a couple shots of Caseice (? Costa Rican national drink), Jameson with a few Imperials thrown into the mix of about 6 Guiness. Good times. So the same guy who was plastered and meowing like a cat is actually a good guy and has a very fascinating story. He escaped Sri Lanka because the conditions for living are terrible due to internal conflict in the country. He made it to France and they told him he was Colombian and that they were deporting him back to Colombia. He got to Colombia and they said, you're not Colombian you're Costa Rican and then sent him to Costa Rica. Costa Rica said, you're not Costa Rican, you're Cuban and then told him he was going to have to pay for a ticket to Cuba. He said he had no money and so they said ok, you stay in Costa Rica. Serioiusly this dude had some fucked up shit in his life and he was like the happiest guy in the world. He said over and over and over (and over...typical of a drunk person) how happy he was and how each day is a gift and that friends and family are so important. So yea, but one incident in which this theme was right in my face. Good stuff.

Not so excited about the expats and Americans I met in the bar. I think I feel more at home with the Tico's than these .....dirty old bastards (best description I can muster right now). I'm trying really hard not to be judgemental because this is somethinhg I've learned from the Tico's. A lot of them don't really care what you're into or what you like or dislike so long as you're not hurting anyone. And I've realized I'm slightly judgmental when it comes to certain things. Like coming to Costa Rica to buy cheap hookers and some self esteem. To each his own right? If I can befriend a hooker why is it so hard for me to accept the fat dirty white guy.

I've also noticed that everyone in life has a different level of awareness. I'm not saying this because I think I'm better, by all means, I've got my idiosyncrasies that drive people nuts, but I'm pretty sure my level of awareness of self and of others operates at a level higher than most. Even people I've met who are incredible people, never ceasing to amaze me at what they are accomplishing in life and the things they are aware of...will surprise me again with a lack of awareness in another arena. It's I who have to recognize this and not think differently of them for it. Yea, I think too much about thinking but I can't help it. It's the way I was born. Sometimes I get frustrated when someone doesn't pick up on something or remember something or recognize when they are doing something that causes someone else discomfort but I have to remember that not everyone thinks the way I do.

hmmmm what else happened in the last 6 days? As you can see from my facebook pics I went to a fruit farm where this guy is building a house of bamboo. I was a bit freaked at first after he made sure to show us photos of the poisonous snakes we might encounter and telling us if we did get into a situation to hack it in half with the machete. GREAT. The whole walk over there I was thinking how my mother would NOT approve of this. lol. I loved walking down the road seeing everyone staring at me because I was the only white person for miles. lol. On the flipside, and more serious....people are really poor. It's true, there is a lot of crime against gringos but the truth of the matter is nobody wants to hurt a person and that is not their intent. Most of the time a house is scouted out and then when they know nobody is home they break in to steal valuables to sell and then feed their family. You have to also understand that an influx of foreigners, most of whom have ridiculous amounts of money, move to tropical paradise to live the dream, have flooded Costa Rica over the last twenty years. To make matters worse, they could care less about the Tico's except to hire them to clean their house or take care of their lawn. So the perception of the gringos by the Tico's is a bit askew as well. We had a couple incidents staying with our friend. He is not the typical gringo with money, in fact, he lives closer to the Tico lifestyle....but I'm sure the village inhabitants had seen me and Dave and the two American girls walking back and forth over the course of a few days and word got around. We saw a car sitting idle by the house and came back from the beach. When we got to the house, the car sped off. Another time we saw the same car, at night, parked on the road again and the three guys went outside with machetes....someone got out of the car and apparently saw the guys and got right back int he car and drove off. So it's possible and you really have to be on guard and watch yourself and lookout for your neighbors but all in all there are no brutal crimes against humanity. Just poor people trying to stay alive. Anyway....sorry if I scared any of you, don't worry I'm in REALLY good hands everywhere I've been.

Love you all and I'm off for another adventure. The directions say "when you get off the bus, the dirt road on the opposite side of the church is what you want to walk down. It describes the house and says be flexible as far as your arrival expectations" I'm preparing myself to sleep on the ground outside tonight or ask a random stranger if I can sleep in their house. ha ha. I'm kidding, well sort of. I'm sure we will find what we are looking for, I always do. but just in case, preparing myself mentally for another great adventure. Voy con las estrellas.

Sunday, November 15, 2009

City v. Country

(Day 3 Friday) before leaving for Caribbean

70-ish “bug” (mosquito? Sand fleas?) bites later, miscellaneous cuts and bruises (from jagged coral, heavy backpacks, 18 mile bike rides and who knows what else), I finally escaped the city and tourism. It wasn’t without it’s haggles. But I digress, you will witness the transgression (right word?) in due time. There are gaps in between bustling city life and rural calm. In those few days I learned things about myself, Costa Rica and humanity in general.

Hostels, oh hostels. This is where I left off last. Don’t get me wrong, they serve their purpose. Quite well actually. I mean, a bed to sleep in for $12 is great. Even if you have to sleep in a room with 6 other people. There are drawbacks of course, like not realizing I’m probably the latest night owl ever. Upon return to a room that is quiet and dark and having to fumble through my shit in the dark I realize I should have had things ready before going out. Second note, I highly suggest hostels take my tip and ask people on arrival if they snore. They should put ALL the people that snore into one room. How unfair. It’s like giving priority for days off on holidays to people with children. I don’t know where I drew that parallel but shit, I don’t get to sleep because you snore too loud? Wtf? I was really tempted to pinch their nose, or shake their feet but was too lazy to get out of bed. Lesson #1 I am smart. Ha ha. There are about 5 or 6 things I brought with me on this trip that I am SO happy (pat myself on back) that I brought. Earplugs. Sleep mask. My pillow. A small blanket. And my water shoes. Humph. So instead of harassing fellow hostelers in their sleep, I put on my earplugs.

The next thing about hostels that didn’t really entice me is the party party atmosphere. You know I am a city girl and love a good party. Shit, I am known to be the first one to arrive and the last one to go home. BUT I did not come to Central America to party till the break of dawn with a bunch of college aged kids doing beer bongs and yes, it’s good to meet people from around the world but also not something I came to Costa Rica for. Additionally, everyone (even staff) speaks English, there is internet access galore, Americanized meals at the hostel restaurant, basically, staying at a hostel is nothing short of spring break in Cancun. A falsely created sense of paradise with the securities of home. Again, there is NOTHING wrong with that if that is what you are after. Everything has it’s place in this world (something I’m coming to terms with) but it is just not for me. At least not on this trip.

Our last night in San Jose was a preface to the division of people I began to meet in Costa Rica. It seems as if there are a distinct two types of people. The fearful, frightened, paranoid foreigners who will tell you to their dying breath that you can’t EVER trust a Tico and if you let them, would convince you to go and purchase a gun and have it under your bed at all times. On the flipside, there is a different kind of person that exists. In my humble opinion, the other side is a type of person who definitely has their eyes open, not naïve to the possibility of crime and bad people, but also is a person that recognizes the kindness, generosity and helpful nature of the majority of Costa Ricans. You have to understand, while it is paradise, it is also a very poor country, economically speaking. Some people only earn $200 a month, if that. And some of those people that earn meager pennies, are the nicest people in the world and would give you their last morsel of food if you were stranded and knocked on their door. On the other hand, which in my experience this happens all over the world, there are those who resort to stealing from other people to get by in this life. Luckily, I have been schooled in how to keep all my belongings in my possession and being a city girl my level of awareness is already many levels above say, someone from Nebraska who doesn’t think to lock their doors at night let alone be aware of the characters surrounding them on the street at any given moment. Anyway…so Dave and I literally walked like 6 miles Sunday. We visited the old cemetery. Then just kind of meandered about the city here and there. It’s interesting because apparently our hostel was in the red light district and yes, I saw hookers both female and transvestite, but really didn’t think much of it. Every time we left the hostel the guy working the door tried to tell us we needed to take a cab because of the neighborhood. I found not a single person bothered us. I’m convinced it’s a combination of street smarts and good energy. Not to say that people with good energy don’t get fucked with. Thus far I’ve met about five people who have been pick pocketed, stolen from or had some incident go down where they had something of value taken from them. As well as residents of Costa Rica that say they carry two wallets on them, a dummy wallet in case of thievery and their real wallet. But surrounding all of these incidents is something that could have been done to prevent. Every story of something being stolen from a room or from the person is either drunken carelessness in a bar late night, not paying attention to their pocket on a crowded bus while standing up to hold on, living in a building that is entirely foreign inhabitants (thus targeted as having money) so on and so forth. Just a few street smarts can go a long way.

So after our romp around the city, we are craving a Guiness and I noticed the expat bar next to our hostel has Guiness. Naturally we go there. Turns out, the man that owns the place is from Rockford, a city right outside of Chicago. We meet a couple, the man from New Hampshire and the woman from Scotland. They seem nice enough, but in my perception (perception being another big topic in the grand scheme of things on this trip…more on that later) a bit jaded and slightly askewed on their view of the world, or of Costa Rica. Apparently have traveled around the world, scouting out the cheapest places to live. They’ve found Thailand to be the cheapest but ventured to Costa Rica. Upon arrival they only had been two places when we met them. Quepos and San Jose. Both very touristy. They were complaining that it was too expensive and while Dave tried to convince them of his world views and engage in discussion, the woman was having no part of it, insisting that

(I'm running behind in my posts. SO much to say. These past four days have been a rollercoaster. I'm going to catch up tonight but had to post at least this much. Sorry there's no pics and it just kinda runs out at the end. I'll finish up after a few Guinesses ;)

Sunday, November 8, 2009

La Farmacia

So I went to the pharmacy today. Can you believe I can walk into a farmacia, tell them what is wrong and they will give me antibiotics. Not only that...but the health care system here is amazing. If I go to the hospital...a doctor visit of about and hour plus two prescriptions is only around $40. I know because a roommate at the hostel had to go to the hospital because he had an eye infection. Chalk another one up to Costa Rica. The people here are amazing. We continue to meet Tico's y Tica's and they're just a really happy friendly people. Which of course, there are people like that everywhere but in general at least in Chicago, people get weirded out if a stranger approaches them and starts to talk to them.

Today we walked probably about six miles all over the city. We went to this large cemetery which was gorgeous. A beautiful view of the mountains in the background...oh I can't wait to get into the mountains. Here's some pics of the cemetery.







The plaza's here are an example of what is lacking in the States. Everyone gathers in these huge plazas and parks everywhere. There are street performers and kids and adults and lovers and just all sorts of people enjoying the day. I suppose there are parks in Chicago but nothing like this. Of course I love the food stalls with fresh fruit and veggies and spices and I found a quaint little cheese shop today. Queso Uralba (spelling?) is what I'm after.







San Jose gets a bad rep sometimes but it's all in your idea of perception. People are so scared to step outside their comfort zone and as Americans the media and society have hammered into our psyche that people are dangerous and out to get you. I've not had that experience. People are the same the world over. I hope I can find some couchsurfers to stay with. I'm really itching to cook. I'm loving these little soda stands and good cheap eats but I want to cook damnit! (This hostel ended up not having a kitchen. I love a good communal meal and several bottles of vino. ;) Also can't wait to give it a go with surfing again. Don't worry mom, like I said, healthcare here is basically free. I'm going to get an instructor this time. I'm really going to be in shape after this trip. Walking everywhere. I love it. Can't wait to play tennis on the Caribbean too. Getting out of the city will do wonders for me. Can't wait. Might head down to Panama for a day or two. Not sure. You can't imagine what it feels like not to have an agenda. I don't want to pigeon hole myself into anything...just going with the wind...or the stars...or whatever...lol. Life.

I am exhausted but that's good. Need food. Love u all. Keep it real.

Saturday, November 7, 2009

*Meet Vincent*Good Eats*First Hostel Experience*

I've been feeling a little off since I got back from Florida. But brushed it off cuz I didn't know what it was. I'm not going to get into details but you know when it's midnight on a Saturday night and I'm in the company of good people and beer....it's out of the ordinary that I have to go home. Pretty sure it's a bladder or urinary tract infection. Yes, treatable but still doesn't help the matter at the moment. Hurts to move. To top it off, I forgot that I have vicoprofin and took something else much less effective to numb the pain until morning. Figures.

Where did I leave off? Oh, right. Meet Vincent.



So much went on today...all compilations of moments that add up to the sum of its parts.

Had another amazing meal, this time it was a Colombian meal. If anyone knows me they know I love that shit and cook some really tasty South American meals. for $2.50 this is what we got...plus a juice made from a fruit called Maracuya. Kinda tasted like cross between pineapple and pear juice. yummy! And the place was really charming. The pics were supposed to be posted in reverse order. Guess blogspot does last pic posted first. Will have to figure that out.







Here's a clip of the awesome downpour that happens every day....just as Wyllys indicated...around 2 p.m. Crazy.



We met another local whom *smoked* with us and took us out and we had some beers and he was a really cool guy. Unfortunately I started feeling really funny and had to go home as previously mentioned. However, we learned about the political conditions in C.R. and how the economy and weakening of the dollar has affected this country which is largely dependent upon tourism. I have a six hour bus ride tomorrow so I'm going to catch up with the rest of my thoughts and probably have a few random thoughts thrown in there. Going to shower and spend our last day in San Jose alcohol free and wander around I'm headed to the cemetary to take some pics and go to farmacia for some antibiotics. Till next time bitches!

*Minimize*Art*Tropicality*

After my entire bottle of vino was gone last night and I successfully posted an entry (it's rather difficult when my mind is experiencing so many new and different things every moment of the day...to try to sit down and process it all and get it written is nothing short of a miracle.) It's easy to slip into a new place with new faces and opportunity. Anyway...right now I'm waiting to check into our hostel, which is bad ass by the way. And there is a tropical rainstorm outside. I love the sound of rain. So yea, there's a mechanical bull at this hostel and some AMAZING artwork.

Anyway...woke up this morning and Dave and I strolled along this street that is cobblestone and only for pedestrians. San Jose is a city much like any other city. Payless Shoes...department stores...seemingly a LOT of zapaterias. They love their shoes here. I like the styles I'm seeing in the street. I've heard a lot about the dangers of San Jose but I gotta say, it's not much different than my hood in Chi. Beggars, homeless, wealthy, poor, etc..so we went to a probably tourist cafe for breakfast and I had the most delicious salad. You know I'm a nut about food so pardon me for being in Central America and speaking of food. lol. But it was lettuce, avocado, refried beans, tomatos, tortilla chips, chicken strips, cucumber,
corn, cheese, and crutons. Topped with a vinaigrette of cilantro, lime, maybe some avocado....fucking delish. I know it's not Costa Rican but it really was delicious. And I had a banana juice with milk. Divine.


The graffiti here is cool as shit.









The street vendors are clever. It's illegal to set up shop on the avenue but they do it anyway. When the cops come, one person lets out a voice signal and they quickly pack it all up in a sheet and get out of the street. My idea to burn dvd's and sell them as one part of a way to make money, sadly, has already been taken. Dave and I think we're going to get holiday decorations cheap and sell them here. Saw a blow up Santa that was only about two feet tall and it was $40.00. Jesus Cristo!

It's raining like crazy right now but it's pretty spectacular. Going to the market later and I really want to cook but there's no kitchen here. Sucks. But I think I'm ready for some real Costa Rican food. Gallo Pinto and soda stands here I come. Tonight we're meeting up with a local I met on Craigs List so it should be fun. I checked out an English school to meet them and see if they hire English teachers. I have no idea what's next in my life...it's a blank canvas. I desperately desire to go to grad school so perhaps I shall put off my stay in a foreign country for a couple of years but it's fun to check out what's possible. It's been a busy two days and I'm not conveying nearly enough but I'm lucky to even have been able to post this much. I really wanted y'all to meet Vincent. If I see him again I'm totally going to follow him around with video. This guy from Pasadena Cali who has been here for six years. Hustlin...we paid him to take us to get wine yesterday...as he undressed me with his eyes about fifty times. But he was good people. He was going to get us our mota but we were not wanting dirt so we opted to wait until we got to Caribe. But Vincent is a character and I would love for you to meet him. Too much rambling and seriousness, a good laugh will do you well. ha ha. Here's pics of the hostel.






Minimize. oh minimize. I brought too much shit here so I had to minimize and pack my hiker backpack so we can leave my other bag here whilst frolicking in el Caribe but it's teaching me a lesson. Grrr....I will not go down without a fight though. I still proclaim I NEED all that shit. ha ha. I'm sure I'll change my tune in a week. Might not be able to post as much in Caribe...need to get away from civilization and BE in Costa Rica. It's easier now because I'm in a city. Might check out for a few days after Monday but I'll be around today and tomorrow. Much luv. Hold down the USA for me and don't do anything I wouldn't do....which is not much so....

Friday, November 6, 2009

The Best Laid Plans of Mice and Men....

Whew. Where do I begin. I'm sitting in San Jose, Costa Rica....ok...so suffice it to say I've had a lot on my mind pre-Costa Rica. The things I've always wanted I don't really care so much about anymore and likewise the things I thought I didn't want, I kind care more about now. But that's neither here nor there at the moment. Things are happening at an accelerated rate and I'm tuned into what's happening and why it might be happening. Maybe I think too much about all this stuff but hey, to each his own right? So my dear loved ones were over my house on Wed. night to see me off. It's not like I'm going to Mars but it IS a big step for me and even as I sit here now, completely comfortable and at ease, I know there are big changes on the horizon for me. This might bore you as my reader but perhaps you can identify...we've all had times where life is just amplified in every way due to situations or circumstances so on and so forth. So everyone was over...stayed up late...got up early....nothing unusual with that. Got to the airport in record time (12 minutes) and got on the flight with ease. Yes, I probably packed too much but whatever, I'm here for three months and my agenda is everything from backpacker style to Cancun proper and I've even already worn my heels (even though it was just to walk to the store to buy a bottle of wine ha HA). I wish I could convey more of what is going on but there just isn't time right now for the hustler from Cali named Vincent or how I was feeling before I left or even for my amazing Florida trip which I will never forget. *swoon* & soul. SO....Dave arrived from Denver...my besties were over to see me off. I didn't sleep until like 1:30 and had to wake at 3:30....ended up not getting up until like 4:15 but made it to airport by 4:30. Which was perfect. Everything was perfect. Got on the flight to Ft. Lauderdale...crowded pinche spirit airlines with your knees in your face seats kinda sucked ass but whatever, I was going to Costa Rica. With my mind in a million different places it actually allowed me to just let go...and be. Being the structured person I know myself to be, structure kinda went with the wind. This was my first indication of things to come. Touche to myself. As I'm on the flight from Ft. Lauderdale to C.R. I even muttered some random comment about my affinity to Florida and JOKINGLY commented about how I didn't want to leave Florida. BIG mistake. Coincidence or not, I got halfway to C.R. on the plane and realized my passport was NOT on my person. Dave tried to tell me it was in one of my bags. I knew if it was not in my purse, it was gone. I went through so many thoughts in one hour and mind you I couldn't even reach my bag to search it because this flight was literally a human pretzel. I got cramps trying to finnagle my bag from under the seat. Looked seventeen times through everything I had. My passport was gone. I told the flight attendant who called ahead to Costa and also back to USA to try to find my passport. I was LITERALLY praying to God, the universe, my mind....whatever the fuck is real and exists as good karma in this world that my passport was SOMEWHERE I could find it. Landed in Costa Rica....took a few pictures from the airplane window and in the hour I was on the plane...went through the thoughts that I just might have to go all the way back to the Chi and deal with a lot of drama I would be very unhappy about. But in the back of my head, I trusted in the way things were meant to happen. Hijo la madre. And they did. I literally took about five steps off the plane in C.R. and they were like "this plane leaves for Ft. Lauderdale in about ten minutes. You have to go back to Ft. Lauderdale and they found your passport in the seat you were on the last flight" Blessing and a curse. See, it cold have been worse. It can always be worse, unless you look at the bright side of things. I had been traveling for 6 hours and had to literally turn right back around and go back to U.S.A. leaving ALL of my belongings except the bag I had with me (originally I had my backpack with me with all of my clothes in it but checked it last minute due to a full flight...they let me check that bag for free because flight was full) so all I had was a pair of flip flops and a lot of chargers and magazines...all except the charger for my laptop. The ironic part of that still to come. So I turned back around...all five steps....sent Dave to San Jose with a telephone number of a hotel and said, I'll be back tomorrow...same time, same place. I admit, I shed a few tears....that this shit was even happening. But what happened after and since is nothing short of believing in the course of life and going with the flow and just really laughing in the face of adversity. Got back to Florida (what is it with Florida these days? *smirk*) and had a gaggle of shit to take care of. Get another flight tomorrow, eat, find some deoderant, book a hotel or make decision where to stay, get my passport (sorry, that was first and foremost.... I kissed my passport when it was back in my hands.) and just process all that had just happened...all on like 2 hours of sleep. So I smelled, hadn't showered, was all alone, and after two hours finally sure that I was going to C.R. the next day thanks to Spencer at Spirit Air (it really helps to be a girl....for the record) it was time to have a Guiness and a ciggarette and just chill the fuck out. After that, the hilarity ensued. Guess what...I wanted to be on the internet....tell my peeps and family (mom and sisters) that I was ok, kinda frazzled. but ok. When I realized the charger for my laptop was in Costa Rica. Not only that but I had downgraded my cell phone plan the day before so I didn't have the ability to text or get online. Truly I think it was preparing me for Costa. The everything happens for a reason thing. So I did what I could Twon was an angel....booked me a hotel through hotwire.com...shit, this post is really long and I haven't even gotten to the best part about the kindness of strangers. People in Ft. Lauderdale were amazing. The flight attendant offered to let me stay at her house if she wasn't on call (which she end up being on)...a random older gentleman who had to take the train back to Miami offered to drive all the way back to pick me up and take me to a hotel if i was stranded was nothing short of amazing. I like to think that my generosity in all I do comes back to me and this proved that I was right. People were SO kind. But I didn't want to make someone drive an hour back to take me somewhere so I got a hotel. As I was standing at the shuttle stop two guys were asking questions about how much hotels were and such. They got on my shuttle to go to Red Carpet Inn. We got to chatting and they were from Colombia. Piqued my interest as I have a fascination and adoration for Colombia. Next thing you know we are drinking Jameson and Guiness and making new friends and speaking a lot of Spanish. Again, pre-cursor and happening for a reason before C.R. Which by the way, since being here I've been told that my Spanish is commendable. I wouldn't say fluent but everyone understands what I'm saying and I'v even been the translator. this post is too long and it's late. there's so much more here there and in between that I haven't even conveyed....let alone the photos.....I met Eduardo who is a cool ass cat and with most of the people journeying into my life.....I hope that I can keep up this blog and I hope that you all appreciate my lengthy stories. I need a devide connected to my brain that just automatically transcribes my thoughts. I got so much luv for y'all. so much. more than you know. I'm gonna continue this stream of thoughts tomorrow....because you have to know all about getting back to C.R. and the possibilities that lie ahead. Vaya con last estrellas.