My MacBook Pro is brand new and the card reader isn't recognizing my SD card from my camera. It's always something. Luckily I'm in Orlando again and the Apple store is across the street. Hence I don't have any photos of my own to post as of yet but I'll find some visual stimulation for you this post.
Photoshop continues to daze me but the weather here is brilliant. Sitting poolside sipping Fanta naranja gives me incredible joy. I'm convinced Vitamin D needs to be a huge part of my life. I'm getting better at building out websites and eager to learn more but I must admit, it seems so daunting the amount of information to learn about coding, wordpress, photoshop, fireworks, so on and so forth.
SO...I read an issue of Maxim magazine the other day. A favorite of mine is also GQ and I've read FHM before. I'm a huge advocate of a media revolution of sorts (I'll have to expound on that subject another day...way too much) and I've done extensive studies in the way media is presented to and by women. Bottom line? Sorry but women's magazines suck ass. I admit, I occasionally pick up a Cosmo or probably my favorite (if I have one) women's magazine is Marie Claire but seriously??? Men's magazines are so much cooler. And have more interesting material. In Maxim I learned how to filet a fish, siphon a gas tank, learned about a new hit comedian, got to experience Cameron Diaz in her real element (foul mouthed and sex crazed) and not some watered down version for the ladies, learned how to make some great new summertime alcoholic punches, heard some new jokes that were actually funny, read about the history of the donut, read articles peppered with swear words (which is ACTUALLY the way people talk) and avoided a host of ridiculously stupid articles about how to please your man or low fat recipes and overpriced clothing options. In short, fuck you women's magazines. I think if I read any magazine that is feminine or such, I will choose Family Circle or whatever because it's $1.99 and I would buy it for organizational skills, crafts or recipes instead of stupid shit in Vogue, Elle, Cosmo etc....
I've been thinking (again) about a book to write. Or a script. I started one when I was at DePaul but I have to find it. It's so difficult to get into the habit of writing regularly. On that tip, I started a few more blogs so check them out!
www.grievancesagainstsociety.wordpress.com
www.pagesfoldedover.wordpress.com
www.postcardsfromhell.com
grievances against society i welcome experiences from others. The people that co-exist in this world with me sometimes baffle the shit out of me. And sometimes get on my every last fucking nerve. I hate saying that because I have a lot of awesome people in my life and I also just try to understand that everyone is different and like Oprah said on her last show "just because you were born gives you worth on this planet". God bless your heart Oprah. I try to keep your words in my mind but it's really hard sometimes when you encounter fucking idiots. So grievancesagainstsociety is an outlet to share your pain with the rest of us.
pagesfoldedover will be a book review site of sorts. I have many books that have made it to my top favorites list. And all of them have tons of pages folded over because that particular page struck me in some way or held significance. I always meant to write about them right away but just as this site lacks frequent updates, those books stayed on my bookshelf waiting to be written about.
postcardsfromhell is also a site I would want you to contribute to. Please send me your stories from vacation or abroad.
It's been an interesting 6 months for me. I went from thinking I was going to be in Costa Rica for a really long time, to deciding to move back home and really missing my friends and family. I went from being completely heartbroken over someone who wasn't even worth my time in the first place to gradually learning to give myself more credit and realizing things don't work out with certain individuals because I deserve way more and am way better than that. Looking back I realize the goals I have made I
actually reached, therefore, setting the bar higher once again and making some goals in my head that I'm certain will eventually be reached. I now realize the sky is not the limit! there are no limits.
Hm...well I don't really know what visual aids to post with this post. I promise I'll get on the picture thing.
Sunday, June 12, 2011
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
1 comment:
I'm off to check out your new blogs!
Good luck with the macbook thing. I bought a GPS the other day and on my first trip it got me lost and then stopped working. Uh...fail?
Post a Comment